Our Staff

Connecticut Council on Problem Gambling staff members are dedicated to supporting gamblers, their families, and the public through advocacy, education, training, prevention, and research in the area of problem gambling.

Donna Zaharevitz
Program Director, Judicial Liaison & Recovery Coach

Donna is a gambler in recovery and has been working in the recovery field for over 17 years. She has appeared on both national and local news media discussing the addiction of gambling and recovery services in the state of CT and other area states. Donna has produced a Video “In Recovery: Where Are We Now, Where Do We Go From Here’ for the council. She has presented at a press conference at the U.S. House of Representatives advocating for the education, research and treatment for the addiction of gambling. In 2008, the CT Department of Corrections granted her permission to start the first of its kind Gambling Intervention Group at the Niantic’s Women’s Correctional Facility, and as a recovery coach. In addition Donna serves on the Board of Directors of the Capital Area Substance Abuse Council and the Maine Youth Action Network (NYAN). She also serves on the National Council on Problems Gambling Federal Affairs committee as well as the National Councils Helpline Committee.

Donna has received the following awards:

  •  2009 Hartford Business Journal: Health Care Hero
  • 2009 Governor Jody M. Rell: Outstanding Service and Commitment to Excellence, and Dedication to Improving the Lives of Many
  • 2014 Connecticut Council on Problem Gambling: In Recognition for Dedication and Service to the Council’s Mission
  • 2014 Certification of Special Recognition from U.S. Senator for CT Richard Blumenthal
  • 2015 The Massachusetts Council on Compulsive Gambling: Thomas N. Cummings Leadership Award for Vision, Courage and Dedication in the Field of Problem Gambling


Marlene D. Warner, MA
Acting-Executive Director


Our Board

Willie Coleman, President
Norwich, CT
Norwich Veteran’s Outreach Center

Scott Guay, Vice President
Middletown, CT
CT Valley Hospital, Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services

Rita Shair, Director
Rocky Hill CT
Office of the Chief State’s Attorney

Laura Lillian Best, Director
Norwich, CT
State of Connecticut Workers; Compensation Commission, 2nd District